Collin County criminal lawyer Constantine G. Anagnostis has extensive experience helping individuals obtain an occupational drivers license. Once a person has been arrested for DWI, and if he does not request an ALR hearing, his license will automatically be suspended. An occupational driver’s license is a special restricted license issued to persons whose license has been suspended or revoked for certain offenses (other than medical reasons or delinquent child support). An occupational license authorizes the operation of a non-commercial motor vehicle in connection with a person’s occupation, for educational purposes or in the performance of essential household duties. There are no occupational or essential needs licenses available to operate a commercial motor vehicle.
Requests for such licenses are made to the county or district court in the county of the licensee’s residence or to the court of original jurisdiction where the offense occurred. Your license will normally allow you to be on the road for four (4) hours a day, however, this number may increase up to twelve (12) hours per day pending court approval. The court order is not the occupational license. It is the order granting the occupational license. The court order and all other required items must be submitted to the Department for issuance of an occupational license. The court order may be used as a license for thirty (30) days from the date of the judge’s signature while DPS processes the occupational license request.
The requirements for an occupational license are:
- A certified copy of the petition and court order granting the occupational license;
- An original pink SR-22 certificate of insurance;
- A $10 license fee for a one-year license or less (the maximum length of issuance is a two year license for $20, provided the court order grants this length of time);
- A $100 statutory reinstatement fee for the safety responsibility suspension, if required;
- A $125 statutory reinstatement fee for the administrative license revocation, if required, and;
- An SR-37 form to type the occupational license.
All required reinstatement fees must be paid before DPS can issue the occupational license.
Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22)
A Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) is a type of motor vehicle liability insurance. An SR-22 can be issued by most insurance providers and certifies that an individual has the minimum liability insurance as required by law. An insurance provider will automatically notify the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) when an SR-22 is cancelled, terminated or lapses.
Financial Responsibility for Crash, Conviction or Judgment
Any individual whose driving privilege has been suspended or revoked as the result of a car crash, conviction or judgment is required to file an SR-22 with DPS and maintain coverage for two years starting from the date of the conviction. An insurance card or policy will not be accepted in place of an SR-22.
Authorized Insurance Providers
Individuals should contact their local insurance agent or provider to obtain an SR-22 or visit the Texas Department of Insurance for a complete list of providers authorized to write liability insurance for the State of Texas.
Individuals who do not own a vehicle should ask an insurance provider about a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance policy.
Cancelled, Terminated or Lapsed SR-22
An individual’s driving privilege and vehicle registration may be suspended if:
- An SR-22 must be maintained and the individual does not have a valid SR-22 on file with DPS, or
- DPS receives notification that an SR-22 has been cancelled, terminated or lapsed.
Driver License Reinstatement Requirements
To reinstate a driver license an individual must:
- Pay the required reinstatement fee prior to the issuance of the driver license, and
- Submit an SR-22 to DPS.
Minimum Liability Amounts
The minimum liability coverage amounts required by law are:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident,
- $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, and
- $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.
For more information on minimum liability insurance laws, please visit the Texas Department of Insurance.
Driver Eligibility Status
For individuals who are required to submit compliance documents (i.e. certificate of completion, SR-22, etc.), their driver eligibility status will change from “ineligible” to “eligible” on the License Eligibility website once all documents have been processed and fees have been paid.
Contact : Collin County Criminal Lawyer
Collin County criminal lawyer Constantine Anagnostis dedicates his practice to people who are facing criminal charges, with a primary emphasis on DWI, Drug Offenses, Expunction & Nondisclosure Agreements, and Occupational Driver’s License Issues. Collin County criminal lawyer Constantine G. Anagnostis understands the law, procedures, and penalties pertaining to criminal law, and will aggressively fight to protect your rights. Collin County criminal lawyer Constantine Anagnostis provides the utmost personal dedication to each and every case, and truly cares about his clients. You may call 817-229-0319 to schedule a free consultation, or submit a sample case form. At DFW Criminal Lawyers, L.L.C., we look forward to helping you.
DFW Criminal Lawyers, L.L.C. serves clients in all of Collin County, including: Frisco, Texas, Plano, Texas, Prosper, Texas, Allen, Texas, McKinney, Texas, Anna, Texas, Wylie, Texas, Fairview, Texas, Melissa, Texas, Murphy, Texas, Celina, Texas, Lucas, Texas, and Hebron, Texas. For cases in Dallas county, click here.